Top Bar Background
Header Background

COC Men’s Golf Team Wins CCCAA State Championship for an Eighth Time

COC Men’s Golf Team Wins CCCAA State Championship for an Eighth Time

ARROYO GRANDE, Calif. — The College of the Canyons men's golf team is the California Community College Athletic Association (CCCAA) State Champion for the eighth time in program history after posting a 36-hole score of 761 at Cypress Ridge Golf Course in Arroyo Grande on Monday.

Playing under cool temperatures and high winds, the Cougars jumped out to an early six-stroke lead after the morning round, thanks in large part to the two-under-par score of 70 turned in by COC sophomore Jaeyeol Kim.

That mark proved to be the lowest of the day, and helped set the tone for the eventual 24-stroke victory by Canyons.

Kim finished the event with a combined score of 151 (70/81) to tie with teammate Michael Lindgren (75/76) for COC's top spot. 

Lindgren and Kim were both named to the CCCAA All-State team after placing fifth and sixth, respectively, in the tournament's individual standings.

Travis Fay (78/76) and Ricky Hoefert (76/78) were next in line for Canyons at 154.

Daniel Taplin ended his day at 156 (82/74) after shooting a team-best score of 74 in the afternoon round.

Ben Campbell finished the event at 158 (80/78).

All five of COC's scoring players turned in afternoon rounds in the 70s to help clinch the state championship in convincing fashion.

As a team, COC was trailed by second place Cypress College (785), third place Ventura College (789) and fourth place Riverside City College (794.)

Folsom Lake College (799), Chabot College (818), Reedley College (822) and Modesto College (824) rounded out the field of eight schools.

The 2017 CCCAA State Championship is the eighth for Canyons head coach Gary Peterson, who has established an unsurpassed tradition of excellence at COC.

Over the last five seasons Canyons has captured three state titles (2013, 2015, 2017) while finishing as runner up on two occasions (2014, 2016). 

COC has also claimed two individual state championships along the way, with Sidney Wolf winning in 2014 and Campbell taking the top spot at the 2016 state championship event.

The Cougars also previously won team state titles in 1993, 2000, 2002, 2006 and 2008.

The College of the Canyons Athletics department now boasts a combined 30 state championships (16 team and 14 individual) across 16 intercollegiate sports programs.

Team Information